The following four awards categories are limited to PROVIDER MEMBERS:

  1. Spirit of Hospice & Palliative Care; For any provider member leader who exemplifies the spirit of hospice and/or palliative care.
  2. Interdisciplinary Team Member; For any provider member exhibiting excellence in end-of-life care.
  3. Outstanding Achievement; For any provider member who has made a significant impact.
  4. Volunteer Award; For any provider member volunteer who has made a significant impact.

New industry award categories have been introduced this year to recognize excellence in marketing and innovative business initiatives. Both member and non-member providers/organizations are eligible to be nominated in the categories listed below (each category allows for submission based on a provider with a single location, or a provider with multiple locations). The fee per entry is: 1) free for member providers, 2) $100 per entry for nonmember providers.

  1. Best Hospice Or Palliative Care Marketing Campaign
  2. Best Consumer Outreach
  3. Best Website
  4. Best Single Initiative That Advances End-of-Life Care
  5. Best Print Product
  6. Best Electronic Product
  7. Best Event
  8. Best New Management Initiative

The judges of each contest are allowed to alter the rules by which awardees are selected. The decision of the judges, once made, is final.

Past Award Winners:

Spirit of Hospice Award
2013: Dave Hamilton
2012: Gerry Montgomery
2011: Susan Lasker Hertz
2010: Janelle McCallum
2009: No Award Given
2008: Patty Abbott, Exempla Lutheran Hospice at Collier Hospice Center
2007: Donna Roberts, Hospice of the Plains; Susan Langley, The Denver Hospice
2006: Rita Cook, Pikes Peak Hospice & Palliative Care
2005: Pat Mehnert, HospiceCare of Boulder and Broomfield Counties
2004: Jeannie Bennington, Porter Hospice
2003: Betty Benson
2002: Nancy Jakobsson
2001: Elaine Farnsworth
2000: Linda Trenbeath
1999: Michelle Appenzeller, Beth Patterson, Dana VanderVeer, Don Vecchio
1998: Karl Koch
1997: Mike Darmour, Jim Hoganson, Theresa Oja
1996: Dick Covey, Julie Madden, Helen Tarnecki

Outstanding Achievement Award
2013:  Dr. Marlow Sloan of Sangre de Cristo Hospice
2012: Hospice and Palliative Care of Western Colorado
2011: Life Quality Institute, Colorado Advance Directives Consortium and COCHPC Advance Care Planning Workgroup
2009: No Award Given
2008: Hospice & Palliative Care of Western Colorado
2007: Hospice del Valle
2006: Exempla Lutheran Hospice at the Collier Center
2005: Pat Archer, Exempla Lutheran Hospice
2004: Plateau Valley and Debeque Team of Hospice and Palliative Care of Western Colorado
2003: Pikes Peak Hospice and Palliative Care
2002: Hospice and Palliative Care of Western Colorado

President's Award
2011: Martha Barton
2010: Jane McCabe
2009: No Award Given
2008: Marcia Lattanzi-Licht
2007: No Award Given
2006: No Award Given
2005: No Award Given
2004: No Award Given
2003: All Colorado Hospices
2002: Joni Fair
2001: Carolyn Jaffe
2000: Connie Holden
1999: Ann Luke
1998: Brian Hoag
1997: Marcia Lattanzi Licht
1996: Peggy Waldon

Legislator of the Year Award
2002: Rep. Mark Larson, Cortez
1998: Rep. Marcy Morrison, Manitou Springs

Innovation Award
2001: "Sands Hospice House," Hospice of Saint John
2000: "Heirlooms for Hospice," Hospice of the Grand Valley
1999: "Nesting Box Project," Sangre de Cristo Hospice
1998: "Complementary Therapies Program," Pikes Peak Hospice
1997: "Family Bereavement Camp," Hospice of Boulder County, Hospice of the Estes Valley, Hospice of Larimer County, Hospice of Northern Colorado
1996: "Legacy Trees," Pikes Peak Hospice

Program of the Year Award
2002: Hospice of Montezuma
2001: VNA Hospice-at-Home
1999: Hospice of Montezuma
1998: Hospice of Boulder County
1997: Hospice of Metro Denver
1996: Hospice of the Grand Valley

Volunteer of the Year Award
2013: Tony Aragon
2012: Dorothy Wiseman
2011: Sid McCash, Connie Clancy
2010: Jacque Everhart, Jo Ann Rezen
2009: No Awards
2008: Annie Rodriguez, Heartland Hospice; Loni Davis, Hospice of the Plains; Martha Vogt, Porter Hospice & Centura Health at Home; Rose Swenby, HospiceCare of Boulder & Broomfield Counties
2007: Bill Grier, Hospice and Palliative Care of Western Colorado
2006: Mary Dellenbach, Hospice of Larimer County

Interdisciplinary Team Member Award
2013: Kelly Watson
2012: Gerry Burklow
2011: Richard K. Riddoch
2009: No Award Given
2008: Judy Johnston, LCSW, Hospice & Palliative Care of Western Colorado; Tamara Luthye, CAN, Colorado Community Hospice
2007: Shelley Miller, Exempla Lutheran Hospice at the Collier Center; Tanya Whitman, Colorado Community Hospice
2006: Kelly Kurz, Hospice & Palliative Care of Northern Colorado;